Hong Kong: Speed Shopping, Street food and Shnappuccino

After a more nauseating-than-usual ferry trip, we started milling out of immigration at around 4pm. I went to the ladies room and when I got out, my entire family was gone and I found myself a little lost. Thankfully I remembered we were staying at the Marco Polo Gateway. I was glad I remembered that because apparently there were THREE Marco Polos in Kowloon. I think I went through all of them before I found where we were booked.

So we finally settled in our (tiny) suite, and hit the streets for some serious rush shopping.

Stop 1: Camera Stuff at Suntek, Haiphong Road
First stop was at at camera store where I finally got a decent lens cap and camera bag for my brother’s Canon EOS. Yes, my friends, I was carrying the camera in a Parker giveaway handbag WITHOUT a lens cap. It could get pretty freaky at times. The salesman was just so good, and the cool thing was, my credit card receipt had a direct conversion to Philippine pesos.

Card charged at 6:18pm

Stop 2: Many many shoe stores at Haiphong and Cameron

Via and I scoured through all the shoe stores we passed by in 2 hours. I was looking for a bargain (less than HK1700), but couldn’t find one that suited my taste. I finally accepted that good looking boots would cost at least HK1700 and anything less would look too slutty or look like they would fall apart in a heartbeat. When I finally accepted this, I realized 2 things:

1) I could have shopped for boots in Macau

2) Suddenly, there were just too many great looking boots to choose from, it was a struggle to narrow down my choices to fit a reasonable budget.

We decided to make sure we checked out H&M before we bought anything.

Card not charged, we just spent 2 hours of fitting and window shopping

Stop 3: Leather jackets from 3 Concepts, Haiphong Road

On our way to H&M, we checked 3 Concepts and picked up these super cute cropped leather jackets. Via got the black one, but I loved the brown. We’ll be exchanging anyway 🙂 It was a good thing they were in free size.

The adorable, geeky sales assistant who sold us the jackets was fun. She called us Visa (Wisa?) and Mastercard because she found our names too difficult to pronounce.

Card charged at 8:35pm

 

Stop 5: Breadtalk/Toastbox

The streetfood didn’t quite cut it and I was getting hungry. Via and I had a light (?) dinner at Breadtalk/Toastbox where I had milk tea (I was getting sleepy) and a pork floss slice.

Fully charged, we were ready to hit H&M.

Card charged at 8:48

Stop 4: H&M

H&M at Kowloon was pretty huge – and packed! It was crazy. It seemed like every female in Hong Kong was shopping here. But of course, we couldn leave HK without taking home something from H&M.

So I finally picked up a cropped and shiny motorcycle jacket-inspired jacket (that made sense, didn’t it?). Very glam. These are one of those items that add instant oomph to any outfit. It was so funky I wore it the same night. The best part was, I got it at 20% off!

I was looking for the leather tights I saw online under the Jimmy Choo line, but it wasn’t available and I wasn’t crazy enough to buy HK68 for regular tights that I know I could find here.

Via happily picked up a pair of HK399 boots (a super steal!) she believed was destined to hers, since they were the last pair in black that was her size. She found the lone pair lying under a pile of shoes.

Card charged at 10:06pm

As the 10pm store closing time was approaching, I had to decide on what boots to buy. Turns out I really wanted the most expensive ones I saw (!) – and just HAD to buy TWO pairs – one in black, and one in brown. So classic Patricia. So I took a deep breath, accepted that Ill have to pay for the relatively large amount I was about to spend,  and ran back to the two stores that sold these babies 🙂 I was going to be the proud owner of not one, but two, fierce pairs of boots. I loveeet.

Stop 5: Brown Boots from Mirabell

After much debate with the chinese boyband-looking sales guys an hour before, I ran into Mirabell and picked up the pair of brown boots I instantly fell in love with. They looked like wellies but were in worn-out leather that looked so warm. The silver accessory added just the right detail. They were flat and had rubber soles – perfect for long walks exploring a cold country.

Card charged at 10:24pm

Stop 6: Black Boots from Joy & Peace

Im now wondering whether what made me buy at Joy and Peace was the perky sales lady or the gorgeous boots. I’m thinking both. But goodness the sales woman who handled me could sell anyone air if she wanted to. She was just so funny, accomodating and made me feel at home so well, I was chatting with her like we knew each other for years. If I had more time I’d probably go out with her.

But I was very happy with my new black boots too. They have kitten heels and sleek, understated details. Very rock and roll – attitude all over the place.  Love them love them love them.

Card charged at 10:32pm

Stop 7: Hong Kong Streetfood

Of course we wouldn’t leave without tasting the street food we heard so much about! So this is what we had for post-shopping dinner – crab-balls, meat balls, bacon covered sausages, mango sago, freshly squeezed orange juice (squeezed right there on the street!), and a strange (but yummy) water chestnut drink. In spite of seeing the cook hold the food with her bare hands, we decided it was all just part of the experience. Via and I were full,  happy and well-dressed. Hehe.

Stop 8: Lan Kwai Fong

And of course we had to use what we bought – immediately! Via and I got a feel of our leather jackets and I couldn’t help but use my new boots. I was alread feeling a bit sorry for myself for being in socks and ballerina flats (I looked like a lola) in the midst of Hong Kong high fashion. We had to get our pictures taken ala SATC, with big shopping bags and the bright cityscape in the background.

Our outfits would go to waste if we did not check out the night life. We were knocking on all the hotel suites we booked and bugged my cousins to get dressed, because we were. All five of us squeezed into a taxi cab to Lan Kwai Fong, where my cousin and lifestyle expert Paulo showed us what the “real Hong Kong” was like.

We hit what looked like a street party, where the place was lined up with bars filled by expats. We settled at a relatively empty bar because the noisiest bar in front of it was just way too packed. We contented ourselves with watching the crowd. I ordered a Mojito, which was a bit weak.

It got a little boring so we transfrerred to another bar that played hiphop music. I treated everyone for a round of drinks. I tried the Schnanppuccino, which was a cappucino flavored margarita. It was pretty good. We danced a bit to something by Pit Bull (“you sexy bitch” – Paulo’s favorite song for the night), and people-watched. We felt a little sorry for a woman who didn’t get picked up that night. I think she was a little disappointed too.

Card charged at 2:15am

Stop 9: Back to Marco Polo Gateway

It was a long trip back to Kowloon, and we got back to the hotel around 3am. I had to clean up and finish packing. Via and I had move to my Titas’  suite because ours was just way too small. Unfortunately, even if my titas kept the doors open for us, apparently hotel security went around and locked them again. So there we were at 330am at my tita’s door with all our luggage, knocking and waiting for them to open up. We finally relented and I went to the front desk and called their suites from the housephone. It took us a while to do this because we didn’t want to get caught being additional people in the suites, since only two were allowed.

So anyway, I remember lying down at around 330am, with exactly only ONE HOUR left for sleeping. I was up again at 430am, dressing up for the airport to leave at 5am. My flight was at 8am, which meant I had to be at the airport by 6am.

I was going home with two strollers, so moving to the airport alone took quite an effort. I lugged my bags out of the hotel in the freezing dawn and hailed a cab. Paulo instructed me to go to the Airport Express Station and take the MTR from there. That way, I save around HK100 that I would rake up in cab fare if I went there straight. However, the cab guy argued that the express wasn’t open until 6am. If I waited, I’d be late for my airport call time.

I was too tired to argue so I decided to take the cab straight anyway. The only problem was, I had no more HK$s anymore. Thank god for the exchange service at the concierge. Cab fare set me back about HK$200.

Stop 10: Hong Kong International Airport

My mind was afloat as I went through the usual boarding process. I didn’t feel a thing even when one of the officials made me go out again to check in the shampoo and conditioner they found in my hand carry luggage. I moved veeery slowly.

At 730pm I got myself some Starbucks and waited at the boarding area. The 8am flight was full of pinoy OFWs. One of my seatmates was on a connecting flight from Dubai, where she visited her relatives. Of course she wanted to work in Dubai as soon as she graduates. In fact, her relatives are petitioning for her to live there. My other seatmate seemed a little too serious and was reading Being Happy in Hard Times the entire flight. Anyone could tell what their lives must be like even without talking.

Last Stop: Manila
I knew I was home when I had to remove my jacket. The temperature in Manila was higher by 20 degrees, and the heat was undeniable. I suddenly remembered by leather jackets and boots weren’t worn in Manila, and for a while I wondered if the items I bought were worth it. But I felt good in my boots anyway, so I smiled and let it go.

Till next time, Hong Kong!

One response to “Hong Kong: Speed Shopping, Street food and Shnappuccino

  1. step 7 made me hungry 😦

Leave a comment