Confessions of a Hong Kong Virgin, Day 1

I feel that everyone has been to HK but me. But in a few hours that will all change. In a whirlwind decision made two weeks ago, my mom’s dad and siblings and their families are all going on a 5-day Macau-HK Vacay by 11am today.

It’s 2:46am and I’m about to finish packing. I thought it would be easy since I was dead set on being in shorts the entire trip. Until I checked the weather forecast and my jaw dropped: temp at Macau this morning is 10C.

How cold is 10C? Well, right now with my AC off, its 25C in Manila — and that’s nice, cool, Christmas weather. It’s 18C in Baguio — and Macau is 8 whole degrees lower. Via’s friend based in the said country YMed her and confirmed that the weather is so cold he couldn’t get out of his house.

This is why it took me 2 hours to rethink my packing list and opt for pants, long sleeved shirts and knits. Intelligence (care of Via’s Macau-based YMing friend) disclosed that Wednesday night is Ladies night in Macau, and the center of it all will be at The Venetian, where we are booked. Now my only concern is how to look hot in cold weather, since being in something sleeveless now seems to be a bit foolish in that climate. As of now, I’m settling for shiny black pants and satin heels for the nights out.

I was advised (by good friend and traveller extraordinaire Aira Franco) to be in comfy shoes for the day since I planned on walking around and experiencing the place. I just hope I don’t freeze to death. Borrowed my brother’s Canon E05 for photo ops.

Here’s my packing list for the trip

  • Daywear: 2 long sleeved knit shirts
  • Evening: 2 knit cowl-neck shirts
  • Sleepwear: jazz pants and 2 shirts
  • heavy Corduroy jacket
  • 1 pair gray Crocs (ballerina flats)
  • 1 pair suede flats (very preppy)
  • 1 pair black satin stilettos (peep-toe maryjanes)
  • Mac
  • Canon E05
  • old reliable Puma shoulder bag
  • underwear and toiletries (duh)
  • Pocket money
  • Credit cards

I’m so attached to my everyday workbag I’m actually still bringing it with me to the trip. I do, however, plan to change all that and get myself a nice new one on this trip. Incidentally, here’s what I plan to buy:

  • new bag
  • fierce boots
  • pasalubong

I hope I get the time to do all this and still check the place out. I’ll be going home ahead of the group (Saturday morning), which means I’ll only be able to spend 2 days in Macau and 1 day in HK. Which honestly feels a little cut short :(.

I hope to do a little more research on the must-sees in HK. Via mentioned about the outrageous Jimmy Choo shoe sale at H&M. Let’s see if I can check it out.

Update later 🙂

One response to “Confessions of a Hong Kong Virgin, Day 1

  1. Soooo do I get a new bag too or just pasalubong? hehehe kidding! Have a GREAT time Pats, HK is a great place to visit! 😀

Leave a comment